Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as Sahara Desert or the Antartica. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

The tendency to take trips to locations with harsh environments, like deserts, jungles, or the Antarctic, is increasing among tourists. As such visits may bring many new emotions, they also may be followed by negative consequences. Personally, I would try to avoid such journeys, although let me sum up all the points objectively.

On the one hand, this kind of travel is followed by indescribable experiences and is utterly distinguishable from regular ones, which is good for avoiding routine life and is advantageous for our mental health. Specifically, such exotic feelings appear because of vitally rare and unique sights. For example, being on tour in the Amazon jungles, meeting some ancient tribes, and getting to know their culture would leave an unforgettable emotion of excitement in any person.

On the other hand, various downsides may occur during such trips. Therefore, health issues are the main and most significant risks associated with such travel. Usually, that is the main reason such destinations are not popular among tourists. These places might be full of diseases that our immune systems cannot handle; temperature conditions that we are not used to; or encounters with predators, which create risks for our lives.

In conclusion, even though these sorts of trips can bring a lot of satisfaction and unusual memories that mere family seaside vacations cannot provide, the fact that these places are considered unusual explains the risks involved. For some, the thrill may outweigh the dangers, but for others, these risks may make such trips less viable.