Today people are surrounded by advertising. This affects what people think is important and has a negative impact on people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern era, it is true that advertisements are increasingly pervasive. One school of thought holds that this phenomenon has altered people’s mindsets about what should be considered crucial and brings negative consequences to their lives. I largely agree with this notion as the bombardment of advertisements can create a uniform perception of social status and negatively affect people’s mental health. Nevertheless, I also acknowledge the advantages of advertisements in assisting consumers.

The primary justification for my opinion is based on the fact that advertisements have changed the definition of people’s goals in life. To attract customers, brands typically present ideal lives and standardized beauty in their ads, instilling a sense of inadequacy in consumers. For example, fashion brands such as Gucci or Balenciaga often hire models with perfect bodies and incorporate elements of wealth in their advertisements. Through this practice, these brands create an illusion that if customers purchase their products, they will achieve their ideal bodies and lifestyles. Undeniably, exposure to such ads has altered what people pursue in modern life.

Furthermore, I believe the ubiquity of advertising might be detrimental to individuals’ mental health. To reach a wider range of consumers, businesses often collaborate with other media, such as Facebook or Twitter, or use public spaces to display their advertisements, leading to an overabundance of advertising. Unfortunately, some of these may contain content that conflicts with some people’s norms. As a result, they might feel annoyed, and exposure to these ads in the long term might result in increased stress.

However, it is important to acknowledge the potential of advertising. On an individual level, advertisements educate first-time buyers, providing them with a basic assurance of quality. By obtaining information from ads, buyers can compare products effortlessly, making more informed decisions. From the business perspective, advertising acts as a powerful tool to raise awareness among potential customers, allowing enterprises to increase sales and expand their market presence. This, in turn, contributes to the country’s economic progression, enhancing the quality of life.

In conclusion, I largely concur that advertisements can foster a culture of superficiality and result in decreased mental health for some people. Yet, advertising has the potential to make customers aware of their offerings and drive economic success.