Today people are surrounded by advertising. This affects what people think is important and has a negative impact on people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent decades, the advertising industry has permeated many facets of people’s lives including their preferences, and has negatively impacted their lives. This essay totally concurs with this opinion, as will be discussed further.

Undeniably, advertising can profoundly impact individuals’ perception of important factors in life. In particular, advertisements nowadays tend to have a tendency to prioritize material possessions and foster unrealistic values. A prime example is promotions conducted by luxury brands, which oftens extol materialism as the key of happiness instead of values and experiences. The accumulation of material possessions may result in shallow pursuits of happiness and sometimes in feelings of low self-esteem among consumers.

In addition, the ubiquity of advertising can lead to detrimental consequences for people’s lives. Regarding consumers, excessive advertising can compel the audiences to purchase impulsively. Due to overspending, customers may incur debt or take on financial burdens. Not only does this result in personal indebtedness but also perpetuates a culture of impulsive consumption that can adversely impact the environment. The overproduction of companies will result in an excessive amount of waste released, contributing to environmental harm.

In conclusion, I believe that the pervasive influence of advertising will distort people’s understanding and bring about negative consequences.