Today, TV channels provide men's sports shows more than women's sports shows. Why? Should TV channels give equal time for women's sports and men's sports?

In this contemporary era, several TV channels show male’s sports rather than the opposite gender. This raises a significant debate among individuals about the reasons behind this tendency. Although men’s sports may be more appealing, I strongly believe that the equal amount of scene time should be channelled.

Regarding the causes, there are many factors contribute to the domination of men’s sports shows on TV. Firstly, people these days remain the prejudices about women playing sports. They argue that women are too weak to participate in sports and expected them to perform badly, thus reducing the satisfaction of viewers. Secondly, men’s matchs are somewhat more intense compare to womens. The bustling atmosphere that male’s sports shows provide audience are undeniably intriguing, hence grabbing a vast number of attention. For instance, Vietnamese male football teams have always been shown on main or popular TV channels such as VTV3 because of their fierce competitions with other countries namely Japan and Thailand, even when the female teams achieved significant awards globally.

However, I am more inclined to the idea that their scene time on TV should be equal to promote gender equality and enhance women’s performance during competitions. In today’s age, people are concerning about the inequality between these two genders. Besides from campaigns, increasing female’s sports shows on TV is an effective way to heighten public’s awareness about equality, especially with those who enjoy sports shows. Moreover, when womens receive the identical amount of attention, they can be encouraged and consequently perform even better in competitions. This not only beneficial to womens but also the nations’ face with global friends in the world.

In conclusion, there are two main reasons why TV channels prefer showing men’s sports, including people’s preconception toward women and the intense matchs that male players capture the audience. Nonetheless, I assert that an equal shows should be observed in both of these genders for the sake of equality and women’s performance.