Today's schools should teach their students how to survive financially in the world today. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In recent decades, schools are facing the dilemma of whether to teach students to manage their survival skills financially so as to allow them to easily enter their future workforce in this competitive environment. Although teaching students such skills in a school is of paramount importance, I firmly disagree with that statement due to the following reasons.

Admittedly, it is crucial that schools teach their students financial literacy in order to enable them to live in foundational manners before adulthood: asset management and budgeting for risk. To begin with, managing personal currency enables an individual to allocate debts, allowing them to save more and repay loans easily without relying on credit. By doing so, students can negotiate interest rates on the money they borrow and reach their financial goals. Moreover, building up student’s savings would ensure their physical needs. That is to say, the savings can be used in an emergency when they need some additional medical treatment from a hospital, which requires a great amount of money.

Nevertheless, I believe that other considerations are influential as such in terms of family background and personal learning strategy. To be precise, financial attitudes are often shaped by family values. Thus, schools would acknowledge that it may be challenging to instill a financial perspective when it conflicts with students’ familial experiences and pre-established beliefs about money. With respect to the study manners of individuals, some students tend to understand how to live financially by doing the actual action instead of reading theories from their schools, while others prefer to leave these survival skills into their adulthood so that they can be focusing on the subjects they are learning.

In conclusion, despite the benefits of asset management and budgeting for risk, I still believe the skills of financial survival can be obtained from family values and individuals’ learning tactics.