Topic: Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is it? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

Solar energy is becoming a trend amongst households as the chosen energy sources across the globe. Not only is it regarded as the most viable solution to energy outages, but it is also quite sought-after for being one of the cheapest alternative and renewable energy sources available. However, like all things good, it has both advantages and disadvantages.

The modern world is experiencing a shortage of energy whereby whatever is available is expensive, thus solar energy is one of the cheapest alternative sources. For example, in China, the government is investing in photovoltaic technology to supply electricity to the its public. This provides the country with a never-ending resource that is free and abundant. Many countries also encourage citizens to install solar panels on their roofs with the incentive of a comparatively lower energy bill. Germany, for instance, pays its citizens to utilize solar power to run their households, and since the citizens only pay for the equipment and not the resource itself, they save thousands of dollars in electricity bills each year.

While solar energy is renewable and cheap, it still has various disadvantages that make many not choose it their prime energy source. One of the most prominent disadvantages is the inefficiency of solar panels on cloudy days, especially in parts of the world where sunlight is limited for only a few hours a day. Another disadvantage is that while the resource itself is abundant, the material used to make solar panels and other equipment comes mainly from glass, thus overthrowing the very purpose of using solar energy.

In conclusion, solar energy is still growing as a primary energy source across households since it’s advantages outweigh the disadvantages.