Topic: Some people say it is necessary to create a new language that improves international communication. Do you think the benefits outweight the drawbacks?

In this day and age, language serves as a primary means of connecting people across the world. While many individuals are becoming bilingual or proficient in multiple languages, some argue that a new language should be invented to improve international communication. Although I acknowledge that a new language might bring certain drawbacks such as loss of native languages and cultural heritage, I believe that the advantages outweigh the negative consequences.

On the one hand, one of the benefits associated with the invention of a new language is its simplified alphabet and accessible grammatical structures.These days, some people may face challenges to learn languages with a wide range of vocabulary and grammatically intricate forms, leading to a strenuous learning process. A good example of this would be English. Despite the fact that it is spoken by millions of people in the world, its spelling rules and complex structures often confuse people. In comparison, they may adopt a new language to learn as it could avoid such complexities by streamlining the learning methods and linguistic rules, improving language acquisition, and offering equal access to the world for them. Furthermore, a new language could be created to dismantle language barriers on a global scale. In the context of international tourism, many monolingual individuals may struggle with purchasing products or absorbing daily information due to differences in language. To deal with it, the authorities should promote widespread adoption of a new language among people through some strategies such as linguistic awareness campaigns on TV or the introduction of a new language in the educational curriculum to compel them to acquire this new global language. This would render people more aware of learning and using a new language in communication, travelling, studies and other purposes once they discover its potential advantages through the strategies of authorities. More broadly, a new language can be beneficial for international cooperation among many countries. High-income and middle-income countries should primarily use a new language with the aim of developing the economy and society prosperously. For instance, rather than utilizing mother tongues and electronic translation tools which can result in unnecessary mistakes in communication, a new language can be used effectively in the negotiation on international trade agreements and multinational experience exchange. Therefore, a new language can play a crucial role in fostering mutual support and lasting friendship among nations and improving sustainable collaboration across borders.

On the other hand, the idea of creating a new language would lead to two significant challenges that should be addressed. First of all, a new global language could result in the considerable fading of other minority languages and cultures. It is true that language not only serves as a main communicative tool but also embodies the cultural essence of a nation. Taking traditional folk tales as an example, the E De ethnic group of Vietnam possesses a great variety of epic poems written in the E De language, which is being preserved and promoted carefully. The profound connection between languages and cultures is reflected in written literary work; consequently, linguistic cultural forms would fade into insignificance if people primarily focus on learning a new language and native languages become extinct. For instance, in light of a new language providing such merits when it comes to developing the economy and strengthening lasting relations among countries, they can make native language speakers realize that acquiring this new global language opens numerous opportunities for career advancement and personal growth, thus motivating them to learn it. Apart from that, the creation of a new language could require substantial financial investments from many resources. For instance, industrial zones would use a huge amount of electricity and paper to print linguistic materials; meanwhile, governments are likely to direct their public funding toward accelerating the adoption of a new language through campaigns and press. Moreover, a new global language may encounter difficulties in gaining widespread acceptance and use due to the predominance of English, which is currently a principal lingua franca for communicative purposes, international collaboration, and academic research.

In conclusion, while a new language is invented at the cost of the loss of native language and cultural heritage and unnecessary financial investments, it can break down language barriers, improve sustainable cooperation across borders, and foster strong friendships among countries. Therefore, I firmly believe the benefits outweigh the negative aspects.