Topic: Some people say it is necessary to create a new language that improves international communication. Do you think the benefits outweight the drawbacks?

Some individuals feel that a new language that can improve international communication is necessary. I agree that this project would be worthwhile, as the benefits of fewer languages being learned and the ease with which tourists could communicate with locals would outweigh the drawback of people learning less about other cultures.

The first benefit of developing a specific language to improve international communication is that people would no longer need to learn many different languages. If everyone in the world could speak the same second language, every child in the world would study it from a young age, and would reach a level of competency which is generally not expected when students have to learn several languages at once, which is currently the case.

Furthermore, with everyone around the world learning this new language, travelling around the world would become much easier as they could communicate with anyone else, no matter where in the world they found themselves. At the moment, although English is considered an international language, tourists still find it difficult to communicate with one another and locals, so this new language would allow for fluent communication, unlike anything that currently exists.

However, there is the drawback of people learning less about one another’s cultures. Learning a language is not just learning words, as one also gets deeper insights into the culture of the people who speak the language they are learning. This knowledge is very important to help people understand those from other cultures more clearly and avoid misunderstandings and disagreements. With an international language, on the other hand, people would only learn it within the context of their own surroundings.

In conclusion, I believe that the advantages of an international language would outweigh its disadvantages. It would mean that people would have fewer languages to learn and tourists could communicate with locals more effectively, yet there is the drawback of people learning less about one another’s cultures.