Tourism is one of the fastest growing industries and contributes a great deal to economies around the world. However, the damage tourism can cause to local cultures and the environment is often ignored. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the recent times, Tourism sector has witnessed exponential rise in numbers. It could be easily observed that both the domestic and international travelers are excited to explore exquisite destinations. On the downside, it is resulting in further disintegration of local cultures and their associated environment. I agree with the intent of the concern raised.

To start with, the practice of visiting unknown sites regularly interacts and disturbs native lives where it creates a natural divide between the visitors and the dwellers due to cultural misfit. Additionally, it alters the regular routine of the aboriginals in the area endangering their overall life choices and privacy. For example, in some places in India, tribal population is migrating towards more desolated places in search of conducive milieu.

Moreover, this upcoming sector has inflicted enormous damage to micro-climate of the area which is rendering burden on their limited resources. Such mismanagement has become the reason for several man-made disasters like, landslides, forest fires, soil erosion etc. Further, this has led to depletion of green cover due to high influx of revelers .

However, there are multiple positive aspects to the booming Tourism industry. Benefits such as generation of employment to the people already residing in the location. Another plus side being that it enriches government revenue by levying taxes. Also, enhancing fundamental amenities in such places.

Undoubtedly, with improving living standards around the globe, people are looking for exotic territories to stay in, but this is progressing towards destruction of lifestyles and surrounding of such places. It is high time that authorities should make timely intervention and regulation so that sustainable and eco-friendly tourism can be promoted.