Traffic congestion is becoming increasingly problematic in larg cities. What solution can you suggest to help solve this problem

In recent years, traffic jams have dramatically increased in mega-cities, posing significant difficulties for the people living there. It seems vital to address this issue properly. I believe this task can be achievable by adopting pragmatic strategies, such as improving the public transportation system and implementing regulations for private car drivers.

One of the most reasonable measures to reduce traffic congestion could be the development of a public transportation system so efficient that people prefer to use it instead of their own cars. Expanding railways and buses by utilizing advanced facilities such as fast trains and comfortable buses with widespread coverage of the city can be highly attractive to individuals. This would provide them with a convenient and safe method of transportation. For example, policymakers in the city of Tokyo have significantly reduced traffic congestion by implementing such practical approaches.

Imposing strict rules to make driving private cars costly may be another applicable solution for decreasing traffic jams. Drivers could be required to pay an extra tax for their cars if they drive during rush hours. It may also be mandatory to pay tolls for driving on congested routes. In addition, the high cost of fuel can play an important role in discouraging individuals from using their own cars. These policies have been successfully implemented for years in metropolitan areas such as London and Paris to mitigate the problem and can be employed in other big cities.

In conclusion, the problem of traffic congestion can be relatively alleviated by strengthening the public transportation system and increasing the expenses of driving private cars.