Training 65 year olds people to use computer would be a good use of government money. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

It is sometimes believed that government’ funds should be spent on training 65-year-olds people to use computer. While I may acknowledge the logic behind this suggestion, I still firmly disagree with it for several reasons.

Proponents of this view may have several arguments. They may argue that teaching old people using computers will help them easier to access to this modern era. This lays a foundation for elderly to make an appointment for a health service. Another possible argument is that training them using computer might limit 65-year-olds people to suffer from some health issues. Connecting with their children through technology can reduce the generation gap between young generation and the old one. This plays a crucial role in keeping elderly away from isolation and loneliness.

Nevertheless, I still strongly disagree with this suggestion for several reasons. Chief among these is that teaching elderly can put financial pressure to the government. There are many social issues that government should solve such as improving facilities or infracstructure, investing on education, training 65-year-olds using computers seems to be unnecessary. Another reason worth mentioning is that older generation’s health may not good enough to learning these skills. Due to the fact that they are old, their eyesight may reduce so spending hours on computer’s screen will make them tired. Short-term memory is also a big problem as the knowledge of high technology especially computers are wide.

In conclusion, it is understandable why some may agree that government should spend money to train 65-year-olds people using computers. I cannot such a view given the aforementioned reasons.