Universities and colleges are now offering courses through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In the aftermath of the coronavirus pandemic, countless learning institutions have advocated for the utilization of distance learning. Subsequently, this sparked a major controversy with proponents claiming its positive effect on students as it aids them in managing their schedules, while opponents believe in the negative impact it has on the student’s learning experience. I am a staunch believer in the malignant impact of online teaching, as it deprives pupils of the engagement that they might receive in a classroom.

On one hand, a number of juveniles opted for the choice of online learning because it offered them comfort and freedom over their time. Moreover, pupils can attend lectures from the comfort of their own homes and can now create their own schedules without having to adhere to lecture times. For example, a large sum of students, who work part-time jobs, have stated that online courses have helped them manage their time and aided them in finding a proper balance. In a nutshell, online learning has aided students with their fast-paced lifestyle by offering them the choice of when and where to study.

On the other hand, a large sum of undergraduates believe that classrooms are quintessential to any learning experience as it provides juniors with an engaging learning environment. Additionally, group learning has yielded positive effects in schools, motivating peers to teach each other through articulating their own understandings. As an example, teachers can have their students explain a topic to a classroom in a group exercise. Finally, in-class learning provides a plethora of ways through which students can learn and better comprehend lessons.

In conclusion, online learning is a double-edged sword; as it has positive impact on the time and way students consume knowledge however, it impedes their understanding by limiting their engagement. I reiterate my opinion that in-class learning is necessary for the proper delivery of any lecture as it provides the perfect learning environment.