Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development overweight the disadvantages?

It is true that many educational institutions, such as universities and colleges, now provide degrees through online learning rather than in-person teaching. While there are some benefits of this trend, I believe the demerits outweigh the merits.

There are many more advantages of online learning than classroom learning. A probable advantage is it creates an opportunity for learning from different parts of the world. Because it is quite impossible to get proper teaching for undeveloped countries and village students. So, if these types of institutions provide teaching online, then students can easily get degrees in their interest. Moreover, classroom teaching is expensive because it needs classrooms and other accessories. As a result, most of the time the tuition fee increase is unaffordable for many students. Teaching online is a possible way of decreasing the cost so that many students can get the chance of education.

Despite the above advantages, there are several negative concerns about online teaching. Firstly, classroom-based education helps students to grow their core skills, which is not possible in online classes. For example, when students attend class physically, then they engage with teamwork to complete assignments. This interaction developed their way of communication and teamwork as well as social networks. Furthermore, there are some students who come from different backgrounds, and they may need extra care. So that if students get classroom facilities, then teachers can take care of them, and they can give them what they actually need, which will play an effective role in solving the problems of all students.

In conclusion, although there are some positive outcomes of online teaching, I would argue that it should never replace classroom-based teaching