University education should be free for everyone, regardless of income. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The idea that providing free access to tertiary education is a good project or not still arouses controversy. Some claim that this will bestow equality to people in all walks of life to have a proper education or in contrast, this can exert an adverse impact on a nation’s budget. This essay will be an explanation why I partly agree and disagree.

On the one hand, free higher education promotes equal opportunities to everyone in schooling. Regardless of their beginning or financial background, they still have the right to be facilitated to go to school as money cannot be the motive preventing them from success although that’s a crucial one. Moreover, a cultured society is associated with a strongly developed country in terms of healthcare system, cultures.

On the other hand, this will not only “harvest” the expecting result but also it will cause a contrast effect. Firstly, people tend to not appreciate what they are given without paying a price, which lead to a decrease in motivation. Despite the fact that the tuition of each term may worths several months of their parents salary, there are no other rationales for them to work around the clock. Various motivations such as work for a better life, to contribute something great or magnificent inventions to the society seems impratical and far fetching. Not only that, this idea may put a great burden on government because a nation’s budget should be allocated reasonably so if this is spent only on education, an imbalance in spending will occur.

To conclude, although I advocate that the government should make university education free for everyone, I still protest this in some extent for several mentioned drawbacks.