University students always focus on one specialist subject, but some people think universities should encourage their students to study a range of subjects in addition to their own subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In addition to their one specialist subject, it is suggested that students in higher educational institutions should study other fields, as well. Based on my personal observation and knowledge, gaining insights into a variety of fields is essential, especially in unpredictable world today.

By experimenting with numerous subjects, students become more flexible and adaptable to the unpredictable world nowadays. In the learning process, they would acquire the subskills needed to perform in a variety of environments, including engineering, business, finance, education, and so much more. Using those subskills, students can gain more insights into their main area of expertise and be culturally aware of the field they work in. For example, a Social Media Manager working for a car manufacturer would be significantly different to that of an education institution. In addition, learning more subjects means that there would be more career choices for a students. This is especially noteworthy in the AI world that we live in today. Because it is virtually impossible to predict the jobs that would disappear in the future, equipping oneself with a range of skillsets would be a wise choice.

Some people says that when a student choose to study more subjects, they might lose focus in the way, and become indecisive about career choices. Although this might be true with a minority of individuals whose ultimate goals are undetermined, it would be wrong to assume that all students will become lost in the process. By allowing students to experience a variety of fields, such as what numerous liberal colleges worldwide are doing, schools actively help people find their true passion, interest and career goals. A student would know sooner if he is suitable for a role, and make necessary changes before he graduates. In a rigid higher education structure, it would be very hard for a person to completely change his pathway, as the subjects have already been set. However, studying an array of subjects allows for more versatility, which can greatly benefit learners.

In conclusion, I believe that universities should encourage students to participate in courses outside their specialist areas. This model not only equips learners with more useful skills, but also makes them more versatile in our modern world.