University students always focus on one specialist subject, but some people think universities should encourage their students to study a range of subjects in addition to their own subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a common phenomenon that university students concentrate solely on one specialist subject. However, many people argue that encouraging students to take on various subjects rather than just their own subject is very beneficial. From my perspective, I partially agree with this statement because of the fact that while studying several subjects is unarguably advantageous for students, these benefits are not universally applicable for all professions.

On the one hand, focusing solely on a specialist subject may bring benefits to students to a certain extent. Firstly, students of some professions have to exclusively focus on their specialist subjects in order to develop their careers. For instance, medical students, technical students have to spend most of their time studying and experimenting in their professional field. In doing so, they can achieve expertise in their professions. They can have more job opportunities with high income since they can offer high-quality service with such skills and knowledge. Furthermore, concentrating on a career-related subject helps students manage their time efficiently. Indeed, by spending time exclusively on one field, students may have more energy, time for their specialist lessons, thereby avoiding exhaustion and having more time to develop their professional skills.

On the other hand, apart from the reasons above, there are good grounds for advocating for learning multiple subjects in addition to professional subjects. Chief among these is that people can attain various important skills by learning a range of courses. It has been widely observed that receiving instructions in subjects such as psychology might help students develop communication skills, which are helpful to them when co-operate with other people or getting used to a new working environment. Additionally, students may be more versatile when adapting to the job market by mastering several fields. With the developments of new technologies, the job market has been unpredictable recently with many changes in the number of available jobs. Consequently, a variety of skills can help students avoid unemployment by adapting to such changes. A perfect illustration of this is that technical students can open their own company with some elite economical knowledges.

In conclusion, while it is understandable that some specific fields require exclusive concentration to be an expert, I strongly believe that a moderate balance between specialist subjects and others is important to attain the most benefits for collegians.