UNIVERSITY STUDENTS ARE INCREASINGLY STUDYING ABROAD AS PART OF THEIR STUDIES. DO THE ADVANTAGES OF STUDYING ABROAD OUTWEIGH THE DISAVANTAGES?

A growing number of students are increasingly studying in other countries. Although this might bring some benefits like scholars exploring diverse cultures, it also poses a risk of shortage of skilled labour in some countries. In my opinion, students are far better off learning abroad, despite the challenges that this trend may bring about.

The greatest advantage of studying abroad is that, individuals are able to explore a variety of cultures across the globe. This is to mean that, different regions have quite distinct customes and way of lifestyle, in terms of food and festivities. For instance, when I left Kenya to Australia to pursue my post graduate degree, I was able to identify and experience the fun- packed Australian culture and foods that I would not get while in Kenya. Additionally, the classroom was made up of students from all the continents who came with different ways of live. As a result, this enabled me to think of live beyond Kenyan borders.

On the other hand, studying abroad cannot be all merry to the home countries. There has been a considerable loss in the number of skilled labour in some states. Moreover, many individuals are often unwilling to return home and apply the knowledge and skills acquired from abroad. For instance, while I was in Australia, most of my peers would graduate and ask for an extension of their visas instead of going back to Kenya and utilise their areas of study. Consequently, a substantial number of countries do not develop due to their most skilled and younger demographic being away.

Studying overseas has become incredibly common. This has been attributed to the tremendous cultural exchange, but poses a dilemma of worker shortage in some countries. I ultimately agree that, seeking more knowlegde in other countries is beneficial, as this outweighs the disadvantages.