Using strict punishment is the only way to ensure road safety in our country.To what extend do you agree or disagree,

There is a belief that traffic safety can be achieved solely through harsh punishments for driving offenders. Although stricter laws might bring several benefits, I still believe there are other measures which ensure long-term road safety.

To begin with, severe punishments undeniably encourage drivers to obey traffic laws. The fear of receiving heavy fines, losing their driving license, or other legal consequences makes people think carefully before breaking the rules. For example, the number of alcohol-related accidents in Viet Nam has decreased notably since the government enforced new driving regulations. According to this law, drivers will receive a fine of at least two million VND for motorcycles and six million VND for cars if their blood or breath contains alcohol. Therefore, tougher law enforcement is an effective and direct short-term option to control reckless driving behaviour.

Nevertheless, I believe the above-mentioned method is not always successful. Road safety can be increased by other measures, including investing in road systems and providing training courses. First, improving road infrastructure can be seen as a effective strategy. By installing more traffic cameras and modern traffic monitoring systems, for instance, drivers are more likely to obey traffic rules. This improvement does not only change the drivers’ behavior in a positive way but also reduces the risk of traffic accidents, making roads safer for all users. Another effective solution is to enhance the awareness and driving skills of road users, especially young drivers. Specifically, authorities together with schools should provide training programmes focused on equipping people with the necessary skills and legal knowledge to improve driving techniques and guide them on how to deal with risky situations. Consequently, this solution can encourage responsible behaviour among drivers and gradually transform the general traffic culture in the long run.

In conclusion, I believe that stricter punishments are not the only way to minimize driving offenses since infrastructure enhancements and education are far more effective in creating safe roads for everyone.