Using strict punishment is the only way to ensure road safety in our country.To what extend do you agree or disagree,

Nowadays, traffic-related crimes are becoming more widespread. Due to this reason, one common method to improve security on our roads is to impose severe punishments for offenders. I do not fully disagree with this view since it is not only a way to enhance road safety, but sometimes strict measures are necessary.

On the one hand, everyone knows that without stricter punishments, people are capable of breaking all rules, including traffic regulations, without hesitation. For instance, imagine you work as a taxi driver and you pay only $10 for each violation of traffic rules, which is a very small fine. Because of this, you may drive carelessly. However, if the fine increased to $100, you would be more careful and confident. Occasionally, methods like this can improve safety in a positive direction.

On the other hand, if the roads are in bad condition and the rules are extremely strict, people may become dissatisfied. Thus, due to numerous complaints, such punishments may eventually be canceled or softened. For example, in 2018, a small city in the UK made a major change to its traffic rules. They analyzed all roads and transformed them into a large paved highway, which made citizens feel a big improvement. Not only did they manage to satisfy the public, but driving also reduced criminal activity by up to 50%. This fact changed my view on this topic.

In conclusion, although applying strict punishments on drivers may negatively affect public satisfaction and cause criticism, such measures can significantly improve road safety and even reduce criminal activities. Therefore, I believe that imposing tougher rules and fines is an effective method, as long as the government also provides high-quality infrastructure and fair regulations.