What are the advantages and disadvantages of social networking in the workplace?

Communication plays a vital role in every aspect of men’s daily life. Likewise, social networking within a working environment is indispensable in the establishment and operation of a firm or organisation. The merits of this aspect are substantial, bringing the firm unmatched opportunities to lead the market. However, it is equally important to acknowledge its downsides, which might cause detrimental effects.

Regarding its advantages, utilizing a single insular digital system facilitates the ultimate advantage of fast communication. That is, since the whole firm is involved in only one platform, all information can be transferred in real-time, maximising efficiency within teamworking and delegations. Moreover, social media platforms particular to work topics, which are also accessible to non-employees, operate as a powerful medium where employees can establish connections among themselves, sharing their insights and opportunities. They can, for example, connect with potential industry peers, thus introducing chances for business collaboration.

Though advantageous, digital networking brings certain drawbacks, beginning with the exorbitant cost of installing an insular network system, which might engender a substantial increase in the firm’s overall expenses, reducing its profitability. Additionally, system malfunctioning may risk data loss or information leaks, raising the company’s vulnerability to its competitors. Besides, data missing or not up-to-date due to sporadic check-ups also poses risks to the organisation’s accuracy in making decisions.

In conclusion, social networking provides a firm with effective communication as a result of a single system utilization, and offers employees to satisfy their esteem and social needs, while also leading to considerations regarding high costs and competitive issues, such as exposing information when the system breaks down.