What are the pros and cons for children of watching television?

Nowadays, an increasing number of children spend extended period of time watching television. Some children cannot control the amount of time watching television, this is the reason why children may have issues with health. In this essay, I will discuss some advantages and disadvantages of this situation.

Let’s begin by looking at the advantages of watching television: Today people can afford themselves buying television or any other technologies like phones and tablets, so children can choose which program to watch, for example they can watch historical or science movies, these types of movie can help children develop their critical thinking and general knowledge.

Turning the other side of the argument, children watch mostly entertaining programs which aren’t as much useful as science one. Another issue is that increasingly number of young children have problems with speech, because nowadays cartoons don’t have any speech, only dances and music without any meaning .

All things considered that parents have to observe properly what their children watch every day. Because even television has benefits, people just need to choose better programs for their children.