What are the pros and cons for children of watching television?

Nowadays, it is becoming increasingly common for children to watch television. Many spend most of their time enjoying favorite programs or shows. However, what are the benefits of this activity, and what are the drawbacks? In this essay, I will look at both sides and try to draw some conclusions.

Let’s start by looking at the advantages of watching television. One of the main positives of spending time in front of the screen is that it can broaden children’s horizons. What I mean by this is that they have a chance to intensify their knowledge, sometimes even subconsciously.

Secondly, observing the television enhances creativity and imagination. Some TV programs especially with storytelling or experimentation can inspire children to embrace new activities. Moreover, talk shows can demonstrate how to cope with difficulties which they will face during life. This will encourage challenges to be more plain sailing.

Turning to the other side of the argument, children can squander a significant amount of time just for nothing. It becomes a major issue because most of shows lack educational content. This problem may somehow harm their future prospects and it might will not be a favourable advantage.

Another enormous drawback is that it can render children to become a recluse. In other words television immerses them in virtual world and ejects from reality. This can cause difficulties in children’s communication skills, so they will not be able to mix with different people.