What are the reasons behind this development? What could be done to address the problems associated with a throw-away society?

In recent years, consuming different sorts of items for a short period has become a lifestyle phenomenon in some nations. In the following paragraphs, the reasons behind this attitude will be explained, and the effect of such behaviour will be discussed in detail.

To begin with, there are many reasons that encourage individuals to consume stuff that is meant to be used for a brief duration, then they tend to be disposed of. The main cause is the busy lifestyle that people suffer from. To clarify, nowadays, the working hours normally range from 8 to 12 hours a day, which makes a tiny window for other activities such as home chores and cleaning dishes. Hence buying plastic or paper plates, cups, and cutleries will eventually save time the consumption of those items has increased. A second reason is the affordability of them. The price can be a very attractive reason while the quality can be overlooked. People prefer to pay less in order to save money, but they usually neglect the quality matter because they like to change the style or the models of their belonging. For example, purchasing an affordable vacuum machine that will work for 1 or 2 years is more convenient because the models and the features of those devices are rapidly developed and enhanced.

However, this habit and state of mind may cause many problems for the environment and natural resources. Using un-recycle items can affect the globe and cause air pollution. To explain, high demand for un-reused items will encourage manufacturing of them, which will lead to severe environmental damage. For instance, un-recharged batteries are highly demanded items at the same time, people are not careful when they dispose of them. The leaking of the liquid in those batteries can pollute the water and the soil as well. The second effect of this behaviour is wasting natural resources such as trees and metals. Forest suffered enough from un-wised people’s consumption like manufacturing paper products.

To conclude, there are many reasons that push society to use things and then get rid of them, such as lack of time and price attempt. Nevertheless, the effect of such action may reflect badly on the environment and non-renewable resources.