What is the advantages and disadvantage of studying abroad

Nowadays getting education in foreign countries is becoming increasingly popular. In this essay I will discuss some of the reasons why studying abroad is an attractive option and some of the challenges to be overcome. Whilst acknowledging that there are drawbacks, the essay will argue that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

Being engaged in an education process abroad significantly contributes to broadening one’s horizons and helps to easily adjust to different situations in the future. For instance, an international community consisting of people with diverse cultures, traditions, points of views and a new dwelling place allows a student to learn a lot about the world, which makes one unprejudiced, open-minded and tolerant to others. Moreover, it is acquiring education abroad that nurtures such a highly-needed quality as flexibility that makes a person smoothly adapt in any circumstances. This unique experience results in broad-mindedness and adjustability.

On the other hand, studying in a foreign country may negatively affect one’s well-being. So, changing the environment is often a challenging step to overcome and, at first, one may start struggling with constant anxiety due to inability to fit in a group and be accepted. All of this makes a person exposed to health risks and mental problems. Furthermore, an unstable state of mind due to lack of feeling of belonging may also lead to poor academic performance.

To conclude, although studying abroad has its own challenges that may result in negative consequences such as mental health problems, the skills and the knowledge about the world can help one a lot in the near future. Hence, the positive effects of getting education in foreign countries outweigh the drawbacks.