Where possible, employers should allow their employees to do some of their work from home. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many argue that, if it is feasible for their job position, employees should have the possibility to work partially from home.

Since 2020, when the Covid-19 pandemic changed radically most aspects of our daily life, there has been a dramatic increase in what has been labelled “remote working”, that is working from home, frequently using technological devices to stay in touch with one’s colleagues, employers and employees. During the corona virus first waves almost everywhere in the world goverments forced people to not leave their houses, consequently the possibility of working from home saved many jobs and businesses. What was born out of necessity quickly became a luxury that many employees, to this day, do not want to give up. I myself am still experiencing the benefits of working from home: not having to commute everyday to go the office allowed me to have a better work-life balance which means I am able to spend more time with my friends and family and also to dedicate myself to my passions, such as the study of foreign languages.

However, “remote working” has had also some significant drawbacks: while for many it has improved their work-life balance, others have seen a deterioration of their personal time, as some employers tend to consider their employees always available now that they have all the equipment needed to carry out their work at home. As a consequence, some workers have had difficulties in setting boundaries with their bosses and have them respect their work schedule. Another disvantage can be that not everybody has an adequate environment in their house for working from home. People who live with their families or with roommates who themselves stay home to work, can find it difficult to find a place where they can concentrate and carry out their work efficiently. Moreover, staying at home can make it hard to foster relationships between coworkers.

In conclusion, it is my opinion that employers should allow their employees to work from home, at least for a few days a week, but only if the employees themselves wish to do so.