With deforestation, urban development and illegal hunting, many animal species are becoming endangered as they lose their habitat and some are even threatened to the point of extinction. Do you think it is important to protect animals? What measures can be taken to deal with this problem?

A matter of great concern today is the extinction of many species due to urbanization and illegal poaching. The focus of this essay is to shed light on the significant role of animals to human life and propose possible solutions for this issue.

On the one hand, the role of animals is indispensable in human life since they contribute to

the stability of the food chain. The uncontrolled growth of the rabbit population, for example, can be the result of the disappearance of their prey such as foxes, which are on the verge of extinction. Therefore, rabbits may wreck havoc on crops, synonymous with significant damage to agricultural productivity and impairment of human life quality. Furthermore, certain species vanishing can lead to the ongoing extinction of other species in its food chains. As a result, the ecosystem can be destroyed, leading to the imbalance of biodiversity, and then threatening the health of the environment.

An effective countermeasure could be raising the awareness of the general public. The government needs to launch campaigns to raise awareness about the importance of certain endangered species and the consequences their extinction could have on human life. In some countries around the world, lessons about the importance of certain animals in the food chain are included in the curriculum in order to cultivate students’ understanding from an early age. Consequently, with better awareness of the importance of some rare animal species, the rate of illegal hunting has decreased. In addition, the government needs to enact strict legislation imposing severe penalties on unlicensed hunters.

In conclusion, it is clear that animal protection plays an indispensable obligation to the natural ecosystem. However, I think the problems about metropolitan and illegal hunting can be resolved by the mentioned actions.