With deforestation, urban development and illegal hunting, many animal species are becoming endangered as they lose their habitat and some are even threatened to the point of extinction. Do you think it is important to protect animals? What measures can be taken to deal with this problem?

With an increase in practices, such as deforestation and urbanization, an immense number of biological organism are at the risk of losing their habitat, thus, being endangered and almost at the point of a total wipe-out. It is pertinent that animals are protected and that solutions are proffered to this challenge.

Aside the revenue generation that wildlife conservations, safari parks and zoos provide to a nation’s economy, animals also contribute significantly to the sustenance of the ecosystem. Biodiversity plays a huge role in maintaining life on the planet. Sea organisms contribute to the salt content of the seas. Wool obtained from sheep is used to make warm clothing for humans in the cold seasons. Dogs have proven very useful in different fields, including health, mental support, and security. Furthermore, having three-dimensional, non-abstract representation of rare species would help future generations have better knowledge of them, other than just pictorial ones in books.

A number of measures can be put in place to curb these malicious practices, including reforestation and wildlife conservation policies, and levying or fining offenders heavily. Building and construction companies should be mandated to submit research and proof which enunciate that the areas which are being mapped out for urbanization are not abodes of biological organisms and would not pose a bioduversity hazard in the future.

In conclusion, even though these practices are employed to solve other issues such as providing housing for the growing population, biodiversity should be protected and ensured a secure habitat.