With rising global populations, high-rise apartment buildings are becoming increasingly common in suburban areas. Are the advantages of this development greater than the disadvantages?

High-rise apartment buildings have become a means to an end to withstand the rapid growth of cities. While it is the natural and most cost-effective response, it involves a radical shift on the urban lifestyle. This essay is going to explore if the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

The convenience of the ubiquity of dozen-stories high and plus housing is the integration of life and business in the same setting. By blending them together, life gets to be more convenient unlike in other countries where suburbs and recurring commuting are predominant. This model of architecture inherently implies more involvement from the government to cater for the needs of citizens, a more substantial investment in mass transit and greenspaces for instance. Moreover, the mass construction of suburban buildings cuts corners on the costs, leaving room for the installation of communal amenities, an aspect which wouldn’t break even in traditional houses and has become more common over the years.

On the other hand, while a more growing population in a thriving country is part of its beauty, for others it is just the aggravation of the already disturbing hustle and bustle. In this matter, New York is the primal example of this love and hate relationship: the same way it is deemed as bustling with energy for some, it is also considered as crowded and overwhelming for others.

In conclusion, despite the fact that denser cities have the advantage of having more committed governments who are willing to facilitate the flow of their inhabitants, it also presents the drawback of a loud and full of disturbance atmosphere. As a final reflection, it is difficult to determine if the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. In the end, it is a matter of personal disposition to seek adventure or a place of your own, to each their own.