With technology speeding up, more and more young people begin to use mobile phones and the Internet, but old people have little chance to be exposed to them. What ways could mobile phone and the Internet be useful to old people? How can old people be encouraged to use this new technology?

Undoubtedly, in today’s modern age number of young people inducing to mobile phones and the Internet is rising. However, older generation is hardly exposed to new technologies. This essay will explore the opportunities that these technologies can open to old people, and will suggest the ways in which old people would become comfortable in practical using these innovations.

Nowadays, almost every inconvenience that happens in daily lives of people can be solved through the access to the Internet with the help of mobile phones. This technologies can also enhance the quality of life of elderly people. Firstly, communication tools and online messengers can be helpful to stay in contact with close ones, especially for those who live alone. Communication devices will foster their well-being, for instance, by interacting with their grandchildren. And even when something unexpected will happen, they will have an ability to phone call and get an instant help. Secondly, modernized healthcare system allows elderly to schedule appointments, receive prescriptions and even consult with doctors online, this ensures convenience, particularly for those who are vulnerable to mobility. Moreover, different sources of entertainment as movies, games, and social media can save elderly from boredom.

In order to adapt older generation to embrace technology different methods could be implemented such as, training programs and raising awareness of possibilities. Training lessons can focus on essential tasks, namely, messaging, browsing web to find necessary information, and accessing healthcare portals. Additionally, younger family members could also help in explaining how different devices and applications work. Another method is to raise awareness regarding on how could technology change their lives for the better. This could be done by practicing and implementing them in daily life, by that old people can become more motivated to use their modern devices.

In conclusion, mobile phones and the Internet can substantially improve the quality of life of elderly people by providing greater access for their basic needs. By conducting training sessions and boosting motivation society can bridge digital divide and empower old counterparts.