With the development of online media, there is no future for the radio. To what extent do you agree?

Some people believe that the radio has no future due to of online media. From my point of view, I strongly agree with this statement because modern online platforms can be accessed easily and people are not tied to a specific location to use them.

The first reason why I am convinced that online media will fully replace the traditional radio is that people can watch or listen to their favorite online media anywhere and anytime. The radio is tied to a specific location and if you are moving to another city you will not be able to listen to your favorite stations. Whereas online media can be accessed regardless of the location. The radio has its own timetable and it means that people cannot turn on a programme that they want to listen to. Meanwhile, online media allows people to choose music or video according to their preferences.

Secondly, I think that with the convenience that online media offers us, it will lead to the disappearance of the radio. In order to listen to the radio, people need to use a separate device to tune in to the desired station. This is really inconvenient as you have to carry it with yourself everywhere you go. By contrast, to use online media you do not need to have additional equipment. It is possible to listen to digital media through your own mobile phone or tablet wherever you are and no extra device is needed. In my opinion, this flexibility and convenience of online media will put an end to traditional radio.

To conclude, I completely agree with the fact that online media will take over the radio since online media is available anywhere and anytime. Moreover, there is no extra device required to use modern digital platforms.