With the growing population of cities, more and more people live in homes that have little or no outdoor area. Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

As the population in major cities increases, people are more likely to live without access to outdoor areas. Personally, I believe that it is a negative development for the following two reasons.

First of all, people might receive less sunlight that is important to their health. This is because human bodies are delicate and sophisticated organic machines that require to be exposed to sunlight in order to adjust its hormone levels. In this case, if a person stays indoors for an extended period of time, the body might lack the ability to generate sufficient vitamin D that can lead to chronic disorders which are detrimental to their well-beings. Speaking from my experience, when I was in college, I often spent prolonged hours studying indoors during the day without receiving enough sunlight. Consequently, my brain experienced fogginess and drowsiness that lowered my productivity throughout the day.

Equally important, the lack of outdoor space can restrict people’s freedom to perform activities. That is to say that people living in big cities can be confined within their indoor space both at work and at home for most of the time. As a result of that, their freedom of movement can be deprived as they have nowhere to perform the physical activities that they are interested in. For example, people living in an apartment or a basement without a backyard might face difficulties in finding a suitable place to play sports such as basketball or tennis.

To conclude, people living in modern cities have less and less access to outdoor space which can negatively impact their physical and mental health as well as restricting their freedom to perform activities.