With the growing population of cities, more and more people live in homes that have little or no outdoor area. Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

The current population growth has led to a new paradigm of living. Whereas 20 years ago, none would even think to live in a 50 metres square flat, nowadays is one of the first option when it comes to buy or rent an apartment. Some expert name this change surviving instead of living, due to the large numbered of drawbacks.

First of all, the lack of outside areas has a huge impact in our daily life, as residents are no able to do gardening, outdoor exercise or simply invite family and friends for a Sunday barbacue. Secondly. Another point to consider is the poor living conditions of the individuals. Families tend to have less children than usual due to the lack of space. Thirdly, there is less intimacy between the members. Many of the flats are known as studios where bedroom, kitchen and living room coexist in the same area, which makes harder and harder to rest if the individuals have different shifts at work.

On the other hand, there are some advantages as well, such as the price of these small dwellings. Some studies have shown the young people are more likely to get their first residence thanks to these types of houses. Moreover, living with less teach people to value things much more than before. From my own experience, once I moved out my parent´s house, I have got rid off of 50% of my belongings and I am happier than ever living in a minimalist way.

To conclude, it is well known that living in bigger houses with green areas around boost people’s mental health and not having an outside area to complement your apartment can impact negatively your life.