With the growing population of cities, more and more people live in homes that have little or no outdoor area. Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

The world population has been rapidly increasing since the 20th century. As a result, more houses have to built to meet the demand. Architects have to hence strategically plan a way to accommodate a large number of people in how much ever area is available. This leads to houses having less outdoor space. I strongly believe that reducing outdoor spaces should not be encouraged due to the negative impacts.

Firstly, area outside houses could be converted into mini gardens which should be highly beneficial for all members of the family. Children could use these gardens for play and exercise. This is essential for kids as its crucial to practice staying fit since a young age. Gardens can be equipped with swing sets, treehouses, and monkey bars to make exercise fun for kids. Furthermore, adults could also take short walks anytime during the day for a quick calorie burn. Nowadays, we tend to stay indoors more often, so having a garden outside one’s home would motivate people to go outside and get fresh air more often.

Another advantage of having an outdoor area is that it could be used for family bonding. Barbeque nights are a popular choice for families wanting to spend time together. This activity cannot be carried out inside a house. If a dedicated outdoor space is created for family time, members of the family would be more likely to get together often. Several families also prefer using their outdoor areas for pools. Hence, summers could be made enjoyable for the whole family.

In conclusion, outdoor spaces should not be reduced due to the negative impacts. Without such spaces, people may not get out of their houses as often and families may not have opportunities to bond as much. Even if outdoor areas for houses are removed, more gardens and parks should be created to make up for it.