With the rise of personalized technology, some argue that we are losing the ability to engage in meaningful social interactions. Others believe that technology enhances communication and connection. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One school of philosophy holds an opinion that people are becoming overly reliant on technological devices, which is leading to their social isolation and lack of communicational skills. I completely agree with this point of view, as spending too much time on devices can blur a connection with real world and lose crucial interpersonal abilities.

One of the chief arguments in favor of this is that dependence on technology can break individuals’ relation with their real life. This is because people, who spend too much time on their devices, tend to have less face-to-face interaction and over period, it can seriously damage their ability to interact with real people. As a result, they feel that their safe place is their virtual life and perceive the reality as a mousetrap, already becoming socially isolated.

Besides this, another compelling argument to consider is that constant scrolling on social media increases the rate of procrastination among young people. This is because, the popular part of the social media, short videos, that made us addicted to it in recent years, are consuming many hours of our day, often making us to forget about important works or daily tasks that must have been completed. For instance, researchers in US argued that the situation described above leads to delaying important tasks frequently, which sometimes might result in psychological burnout.

In conclusion, it is crucial to recognize major drawbacks of digital addiction, which can inevitably cause social disconnection and losing our basic communication skills. It is important to notice when it is becoming a misapplication.