With the rise of remote work, companies are increasingly utilizing AI-powered tools to monitor employee productivity and engagement. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

With the development of artificial intelligence, the work field has experienced some major changes. Companies are encouraged to use the help of AI and tools related to it to supervise the productivity and engagement of their employees. Although drawbacks exist in every aspect, I believe that in this situation there are more benefits in terms of employee morale and privacy.

With the assistance of digital tools, it is easier to manage tasks that require a person’s full attention but are not as relevant to the project as other parts. This includes spotting errors, misspellings, etc., in a document or presentation. For example, it would be irrational to read the whole document, especially if it contains more than fifty pages, and time will be wasted. Instead, a worker can type a command to find the specific word they need or ask a bot to correct errors for them.

Also, higher-positioned people need to see if an employee is actually doing their job or if they just pretend to do it. Therefore, it is essential to keep track of the work done, and artificial intelligence can manage that. For instance, an employed person can receive a notification on their device to work on a project, and there is no need to contact them via other means.

In conclusion, looking forward, remote work will be an increasing trend, and companies have to adjust to the new environment of the working field. I think that the usage of AI-powered tools will provide even more advantages in the future.