With the rise of the internet, fewer people read books. Some argue that this is a positive development, while others believe it has negative consequences. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In today’s fast-paced society, with the rapid growth of technology, which causes decline in the number of book readers, creating knock-on effects. Some people regard those as development, while others argue that this phenomenon will bring negative consequences. In this essay, I will discuss both views and give my standpoints.

On the one hand, digital devices provide convenience and affordable information. People can find the information within a click on the button. Searching for knowledge online brings a variety of information which people can access in numerous approaches, for instance, visualisation, listening through audio, reading transcription and to name but a few. Electronic devices are also carriable, compared with heavy books when it comes to traveling around. Another plus point is that there are abundant cheap resources or free information that are available online for users.

On the other hand, the subside of physical book readers does have bad impacts. First and foremost, internet research or online articles only provide a shallow view and the surface of the subject, while books give a profound and thorough understanding, helping people to gain insights into the knowledge. Secondly, physical books can boost people’s imaginary abilities, compared with digital devices, which reduce attention span. Additionally, glue eye to the screen will be harmful for both physical and mental health.

Overall, technology might foreseen for its convenience and reasonable cost, it can also bring bad consequences to people’s health. Therefore, physical books can be a better approach for both learning and providing comfortable feeling.