With traffic jams and pollution increasing every year in big cities, some people say that public transport should be free in big cities to help reduce these problems which are caused by cars. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Developed cities have always faced difficulties with traffic jams and air pollution which their inhabitants are not generally conscious about. Many people claim that public transport should be provided for free so more individuals would take them. I strongly disagree with this notion and my opinion will be discussed in further paragraphs with a suitable conclusion.

Supporting my agreement with the given statement, I firmly believe that public transport should always charge a small fee so people look after it as if the means of transport they are using belong to them, otherwise people would not see the value and would damage it. Moreover, that would not make people sell their cars since they purchase them to have a better status in society.

Explaining another supporting point against this statement, it is arguably true that reducing cars would lead to having less pollution and traffic jams. However, giving up the comfort of having a car and switching to using a bus as their main method of commuting would be a real challenge. What is more, buses would not be able to handle the number of people required to carry out the complex task of transporting them all.

In conclusion, the increasing amount of pollution and traffic jams in cities is not due to the fees charged on public transport and I believe that aforementioned points are strongly supporting my point of view. The government probably needs to enhance the efficiency of transporting masses if they wish to see a real transformation.