Without capital punishement (the death penalty), our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increase. Capital punishement is essential to control violence in society. To which extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? (200-250 words)

It is believed that not sentencing criminals to death punishment makes our lives less protected and rises the rate of violence crimes. I completely agree with this statement since not only would capital punishment lead people not to engage in criminal behaviour, but also it would significantly reduce the amount of resources allocated to prisoners.

It is true that legalising death penalties when necessary can most probably decrease cases of crimes. People, most of the time, turn to violent behaviour and commit various crimes because they usually do not have much to lose. However, as a natural human instict, risking one’s own life is not easy at all. Being aware of the high possibility of losing their lifes would undoubtedly encourage those who are intending to involve in illict acts, such as arson, robbery, theft and so on to reconsider their intentions and act accordingly. For example, Murat the fourth of Ottoman Empire is known for his cruel punishments including death penalty for those who drink alcohol. His laws dimished the consumption of alcohol.

In addition, by killing people who committed serious crimes, governments can save a significant amount of food and energy resources. Given the fact that all prisoners are fed and allowed to use prison amnities free of charge, they utilize a great deal of energy and food which can, instead, be used for citizens and actual taxpayers. At the same time, having such excessive amount of people in prison results in food shortage for them. For instance, in countries where the crime rates are excessively high and consequently, amount of prisoners increase, it is harder to provide prisoners with necessary amount of water and food.

In conclusion, in my opinion, punishing criminals to death might create a much safer environment for people and lower crimes of violence, since this law would make them fear to commit a crime.