Working from home is a popular way for professionals to work these days because it is convenient. What are the benefits and drawbacks of this trend?

Nowadays, working remotely has become famous among people who work in a white-collar job. This trending approach has its own advantages and disadvantages. This essay will discuss both of these aspects in detail, with relevant examples, and provide a logical conclusion.

Working from home has numerous positives. A crucial advantage is that individuals can take care of their personal work without compromising their professional tasks. Besides, they can carry their laptops anywhere and still complete all of their assigned work. For instance, one of my friends who is working from his home since the COVID has become more attentive to his family, and at the same time, takes care of his job. Another benefit of this approach is that working-class people do not have to worry about being monitored all the time. Typically, when individuals work from office, they are constantly looked over by their supervisors, which can be stressful at times. Nevertheless, working remotely is an ideal situation to avoid such incidents. As a result, people can focus on their work, which will increase their productivity.

Even though this approach has some notable benefits, it has its own limitations. The primary drawback is the lack of physical activity; individuals tend to sit for a long time when they work from home. This is because, working remotely eliminates most of the physical activity, such as commuting to the office or going to the cafeteria. When people work from the comfort of their homes, they have everything they need at the palm of their reach. For example, my sister, who has been doing remote work for the past three years, has been suffering from back pain, and it is getting worse progressively. Another significant disadvantage is working long hours. People are expected to log in even after business hours because of this working method. This will increase their screen time, which will affect their eyes, and cause other health issues as well.

To conclude, although working from home is beneficial in terms of taking care of personal things and not being monitored by managers, it is important to consider that it also reduces being physically active, and the chances of getting ill are high.