Write a argumentative essay: Should employees speak out if their colleagues are unethical?

Colleagues are people who will work and support each other to create a positive working environment. However, that is not always the case. In some cases, there are bad colleagues who are unethical and do wrong things. In this case, we should speak out about those unethical behaviors. We will discuss this further in this essay.

Many people argue that unethical and behaviors sush as impersonate a company to scam, falsifying the product or service to fulfill the target, or sexual harassment should be reported to the company by employees . When the employees speak up misconduct, they can help the organization reduce risk and take early action to prevent potential issues and reduce the damage. Moreover, pointing out such behaviors is also protecting our safety, if these behaviors emerges in the workplace environment, it will affect our benefits and rights.

Another reason is that many company establish a code of ethics to protect its community and help it conduct business in a fair and honest manner. For example, inspection team in the company and code of ethics such as integrity, objectivity, professional competence, confidentiality, and professional behavior. Furthermore, many companies also invest in training employees to spot and appropriately respond to signs of misconduct that they witness as bystanders. As a minimum, this would help the employees courageously speak out misconducts and create a safe place for them.

However, there are some controversial opinions that employees should not always speak out. This is partly true. There may be some unethical behaviors that do not affect the company or other work much. For example, talking badly about someone else, or leaving on time while there is some work left. Moreover, to speak out about your colleague’s wrongdoings means you are risking your relationship with them, or worse, if you do not have enough proof, you may face punishment, criticism, or even losing your job. Despite these small actions, there are bigger misbehavior should be reported as stated in the previous paragraph.

In conclusion, there might be some personal risks, but employees should speak out to protect the wider society. Besides, companies also need to encourage good behaviors and provide incentives to those who make great achievements. It is essential to sacrifice small benefits for the greater good. Do not be afraid to do the right thing.