Write a argumentative essay: Should employees speak out if their colleagues are unethical?

Colleagues are people who will work and support each other, to create a positive working environment. However, that is not always the case. In some cases, there are bad colleagues, who are unethical and do the wrong things. In this case, we should speak out about those unethical behaviors of theirs. We will discuss further in this essay.

There are some controversial opinions that employees should not always speak out. This is not absolutely wrong. There may be some unethical behaviors that do not affect much to the company or other work. For example, talking bad about someone else, or leaving on time while there are some work left. Moreover, to speak out your colleague’s wrongdoings, means you are risking your relationship with them. Besides, if you do not have enough proof, you may face punishment, criticism or even losing your job.

However, many people would argue that if those unethical behaviors go too far and someone commits a crime, then employees need to report it to the company. A company should protect its community or establish a code of ethics to help them conduct business in a fair and honest manner. For example, create an inspection team in the company or follow a code of ethics such as integrity, objectivity, professional competence, confidentiality, and professional behavior. As a minimum, this would help the employees give their opinions and create a safe place for them.

In conclusion, there might be some personal risks, but employees should still speak out to protect the wider society. There needs to be some sacrifices from small individuals for the greater good. Do not be afraid to do the right things.