Write about the following topic. By punishing murderer with the death penalty, society it also guilty of committing murder. Therefore, life in prison it a better punishment for murderers. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

The statement suggests that by imposing the death penalty, society is also guilty of committing murder, and life in prison is proposed as a preferable alternative. Therefore, this essay will agree with this notion and argue about possible ethical concerns and cost considerations regarding this issue.

The first point to consider is ethical concerns. Many argue that the death penalty is a violation of the right to life, which is a fundamental human right. Taking a life as a form of punishment is seen by some as morally unacceptable, and a life sentence is considered a more humane alternative. For example, it is taboo to volunteer to kill people, which can also haunt the person involved in the killings.

However, cost considerations can be a burden on the authorities. Some proponents of the death penalty argue that it can be more cost-effective than maintaining a life sentence in prison, considering the expenses associated with long-term incarceration. For instance, millions of dollars were set aside by the Zimbabwean government to cater to the food and medication needs of prisoners’ well-being. This money should have been used for other projects, such as infrastructure development.

In conclusion, I completely agree with this opinion because the death penalty violates human rights. On the other hand, it is also expensive to bear the cost of living for these prisoners for the rest of their lives in jail.