Write about the following topic. Music is played in every society and culture in the world today. Some people think that music brings only benefits to individuals and societies. Others, however, think that music can have a negative influence on both. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

“Music is food for the soul”. Who hasn’t heard this before? If you think about it, music is probably present in your daily life and sometimes you don’t even realize it. To some people, that can be a good thing, whereas some may say there is a bad side to that.

Music is almost like a universal language. It is scientifically proved that music improves people’s moods as well as helping with the development of the brain. However, it all depends on the kind of music in question. Listening to sad music when already feeling down might not be the best choice one can make, as it might encourage the person to nurture said feelings. Additionally, some music can carry heavy themes and encourage the use of substances, as well as using bad language, which might not be appropriate for a younger audience.

In societies as a whole, music is a way for people to celebrate their culture and traditions. Big musical festivals are held all around the world with the intention of bringing people together through music. Although sometimes music is used in a negative way, which helps to further already established stereotypes. Take the Brazilian singer Anitta, for example; her music went from showing the world Brazil’s funk culture to depicting a promiscuous image of Brazilian women, which is not entirely true.

In conclusion, there are two different sides to music in our society. It is up to us to choose which way we let it affect us and our beliefs.”