Write about the following topic: : A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, the worth of an individual is measured according to their social status and wealth. Meanwhile the old-fashioned values like honour, kindness, and trust are no longer seen as important. This is the sad reality of this current generation. Nevertheless, this essay will explore this topic.

The first reason is the change in people’s perspectives. Times have changed the way people view things and life in general, because individuals are more exposed, educated, and well-travelled. The aforementioned factors have affected how people reason and behave. Secondly, the effect of social media is a contributing factor. Social media is a platform that exposes people to different pictures of life. It is also a place where people’s choices are influenced by what they see, hear, and read. Some of these people prefer to follow trends than to have a mind of their own. Most people on social media are young adults who value material things, these groups of people are eager to make it in life without working for it.

Whereas, in the past, people valued personal traits like kindness, hard work, honour, and trust. In those days, people’s exposure was limited to their immediate surroundings, as well as learning from their environment. There were no stories of influences from the outside world. On the other hand, as globalization came in, humans gave priority and honour to less meaningful things, for instance, in this day, when individuals arrive at an accident scene, they would rather pull out their phones and make videos, than take the victim to a hospital, all in the pursuit of fame which is disheartening. It is quite sad how much society has changed negatively.

In conclusion, change they say is constant and essential as far as there’s growth, however, it should not make people value material things more than what makes us human.