Write about the following topic: : A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

How do we judge whether people are worthy of our affection and respect in the current atmosphere? Is it through wealth and power, or through their trustworthiness and generosity? I believe the former two have become the predominant criteria. Below are the reasons why I believe this to be true.

The crucial reason why I am adamant that wealth and social rank are presently the most salient determinants of one’s reputation is my own experience as a suitor. In my country, when a man intends to marry, he is expected to request the permission of the woman’s parents. Hence, a year ago, I asked my then girlfriend’s parents for their blessing after appearing at their house one fateful Sunday. Through an interrogation that mainly revolved around occupation, the properties I owned (or lack thereof), and whether I knew anyone “of quality”, the parents determined that I was not good enough to be their son-in-law. They showed little interest in my dedication to teach music to the local church’s band or the fact that I volunteered at the town’s fire department. This was in sharp contrast to when my father asked my maternal grandparents for their blessing; they merely focused on his character and religiousness. Albeit late, it immediately dawned on me that all that matters today is material wealth – one’s net worth.

Another excellent illustration of this depressing reality is the fact that even individuals that previously represented virtue and honor, such as priests, have turned their attention to amassing wealth and gaining influence. I observed this when my local priest embezzled money and purchased a motel near the local monastery he administered. This motel proved to be quite lucrative, but the sheer income from it raised red flags and led to a series of charges against him. While the court proceedings made his corrupt actions public, he was not convicted and was, therefore, undeterred. Contrary to what would have happened half a century ago, he has continued to ascend in hierarchy within the church and has become the district’s archbishop – reportedly bribing his way to the top. His success despite the corruption charges unequivocally indicates that, to today’s world, it is irrelevant whether people lack a moral compass, as long as they are wealthy and have powerful allies.

To sum, the days when honesty and an honorable character mattered have passed, as evidenced by our marital practices and the fact that even individuals expected to be humble and righteous now exclusively seek fortune, instead of virtue.