Write about the following topic: All over the world, the rich are becoming richer and the poor are becoming poorer. What problems does this cause? How can we overcome the problems of poverty? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Recent global statistics has shown that the financial power of the elites are increasing and the economic situation of the less privileged is in a steady decline. This leads to a wide financial gap between the two economic classes that leads to an economic imbalance. Poverty can be tackled by the upper echelons through creation of novel means of employment. This essay will discuss problems and proffer solutions to tackle the obstacles that arise due to poverty.

When there is no middle ground or balance in the financial state of the economy, it extends the gap between the rich and the poor which causes numerous problems. In my opinion, crime rates would spike as the financial power of the masses decline steadily. Affordability becomes a major issue which would lead to high incidents of robbery, assassinations, kidnapping for ransoms, etc all in a bid to make ends meet. The poor would be forced to go through illegal means of acquiring wealth in order to survive in the economy. For instance, recent security data has shown that the rate of kidnappings and insecurities have skyrocketed within the past few months.

Admittedly, poverty is a major global issue but it can be brought to a minimal level by the intervention of the wealthy population through new and sponsored channels of employment including capital funded projects. Providing capital for projects, especially in the agriculture sector can help set up a large fraction of the masses as this increases their financial input through salary earning and extensive business deals with food produce. Agriculture gives room for employment as it involves numerous processes right from cultivation to harvest and purchase of food produce. In recent times, agriculture has been put as a top priority by wealthy individuals to extend employment opportunities.

From my perspective, the gap between the rich and the poor extends but it takes intentional effort from the higher class to bridge the economic status. Although crime rates increase due to this gap but they can be overcome through extended means of employment to increase purchasing power of the less privileged.