Write about the following topic: Because of the busy pace of modern life, many children spend most of their time indoors and have little exposure to the natural world. Discuss the effects lack of experience with and understanding of nature can have on children as they grow up. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Currently, there is an increasing concern on the effects of youths engaging mostly in indoor activities as compared to outdoor activities. This essay will discuss the consequences of the limited exposure to nature such as poor health and reduced environmental awareness.

The primary problem of human beings not spending time outside is poor physical and mental health. Lack of physical activities has great influence on a person’s general health. Lifestyle diseases such as diabetes, hypertension and cardiac conditions are on the rise and are often attributed to obesity. For instance, previously middle-aged people were more prone to non-communicable diseases, and it was rarely associated with younger people. However, recent data show that those conditions are on the rise in children and it is attributed to reduced physical activities in this cohort. Furthermore, participating in activities like walking, running and gardening has been linked to having a relaxion effects, thereby reducing instances of stress and anxiety. Accordingly, nature helps young people to relax, resulting in improved concentration.

Additionally, exposure to the environment has significant influence on knowledge and awareness about conservation. Reducing global warming is an integral component in the protection of the ecosystem, hence, it is everyone responsibility to play a role. A lack of interaction with nature reduces one’s appreciation to the importance of a healthy flora and fauna, also awareness of their role in environmental preservation. If children only watch movies about the environment, for example, it would not have the same impact, on environmental conservation as it would if they were directly exposed to environmental preservation activities.

In conclusion, taking more in the house has a lot of negative effects on the children’s wellbeing and knowledge on environmental issues. Therefore, they should be encouraged to strike a balance on time spent inside and outside.