Write about the following topic: Many major cities are facing a housing crisis as they cannot provide enough land for new buildings. Some local governments believe the problem could be solved by reassigning park land for residential development, because this land would be better used for housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Advancement in health and technology has led to an increase in population globally. With an increase of population we face a critical crisis of allotting proper housing facilities to the masses. Many major cities like New York, New Delhi, Tokyo, Canada, and London, are suffering from the same fate of being overwhelmed by the number of people. Hence, the amount of real-estate in such areas have sky-rocketed.

One way of tackling this problem is to utilize the parkland already present within the city. However, this would strip the city from its greenery and leave it bear, and exposed to many health risks environmentally and individually. Some parks are also registered as part of national heritage; hence, they are protected, and cannot be destroyed or rebuilt. Therefore, it is imminent we device another solution to rectify the housing demand.

This solution has a two-fold approach. Firstly, we need to cater the over-population already present. This can be done by resorting to housing schemes outside the city premises and within other cities. The reason many people favor housing in major cities is because they facilitate community leisure and multitude of recreational and everyday needs. This can be countered by improvising better schooling, public transport, and community welfare, accompanied by improvised housing schemes. Incentives should be given to promote housing facilities in other cities, encouraging people to settle elsewhere with equal benefits observed in major cities. Another reason which pulls people to migrate to heavily popular big-cities is job opportunities. Therefore, private sectors should be encouraged to invest in other cities motivating people to migrate to smaller cities.

Secondly, we need to deal with the over growing population. China, was facing the same problem when they introduced the one child rule. For every couple, only one child was permitted. This helped counter the overly grown Chinese population significantly. However, China, faced a major crisis of overly populating dependents in the long run. It is a short-term approach, which can only be implemented for a few years. More research needs to be done in this regard.

In a nutshell, some park lands can be converted into housing buildings. However, incorporating all parklands into housing facilities would lead to devastating outcomes; and there would come a time when we would run out of parks to rebuilt. The best possible resolution is to promote economical stability, career opportunities, community welfare, and housing schemes to less populated cities to facilitate the housing crisis.