Write about the following topic: The internet has changed the way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development. Others believe that social media have negative effects. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Social media changed the economy, education, entertainment, but also the way we stay in touch. Most of the communication today is made through social media. In this essay I will defend affectiveness of communication with social media and also present negative effects such as loneliness.

Firstly, I would defende that communication through social media is a positive developement because it approaches people from different countries and facilitates their communication. With social media, communication is more affective and constant. For example, if some years ago we only had friends that lived in our streets and went to the same school as us, today we can stay in touch with friends from all over the world. This happens not only with friendships, but also with professional relations. With social media, it is possible to develop a huge network of people that we can work with and colaborate.

However, the down sides of social media are also noticeable. Physical contact is very important for us as human beings. Without it, it will be more probable to develop mental issues like depression. Loneliness has a huge impact on people and affects badly our mental health. The Covid-19 pandemic was an example of how important physical touch and in-person events are so important. Therefore, after isolation, people contacted more mental health experts than ever.

In conclusion, there are no doubts of the impact of social media in our lifes and on the way we communicate. Some people defende that this is a positive development and others belive that there are negative effects. With this essay, I presented a positive side of the digital like the affectiveness and it’s impact on keeping far-away-relationships as well as one down side, the isolation. In my opinion, we always should use technologies as a tool and never as a replacement of something. With this, I believe that communication through social media can be impresive and improve our lifes but at the same time we should remain a critical view of this tool and don’t let it destroy our previus healthy routines.