Write about the following topic: The world of work is changing rapidly and employees cannot depend on having the same job or the same working conditions for life. Discuss the possible causes for this rapid change, and suggest ways of preparing people for the world of work in the future. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Never before has our way of working seen more regular and profound change. While such change may certainly contribute to overall welfare, it also comes with its own set of problems. This essay will adress some of them and propose possible ways for people to adapt to our constantly evolving world of work.

There are a myriad of factors contributing to our ever-changing working conditions. One of them, digitalisation, has led to the disappearence of various professions but at the same time brought about new ones. Nowadays, for instance, one will hardly know anyone working in agriculture but almost everyone will have multiple IT professionals in their circle of friends. At the same time, ever-higher expectations of shareholders have led to corporations being less scrupelous when it comes to lay-offs.

Nevertheless, there are ways for employees to handle these changes. Firstly, it is more important than ever before for employees to educate themselves and to stay on top of their game. There are a multitude of ways to do so: Be it through programms at community colleges or by teaching oneself through online resources. Only through continuous education can employees be certain that they will have meaningful work in the future and be ready for shifting expectations of employers. Secondly, people need to change their mindsets and embrace change as an opportunity rather than as a hassle. Such a positive outlook will improve employees psychological health.

While our work environment may constantly be changing due to digitalisation and other factors, it is possible for people to adapt to these changes. It is crucial for employees to stay educated and to embrace change.